Tags

, , ,

Growing up, I can recall all the dishes mom made for us. They were few, but we never complained. She lived on an extremely tight budget as a single mother with three kids. She kept things very simple. If we did not like what she made we didn’t eat. Mom never babied us.

Why am I such a softie when it comes to my papas? My kid is the pickiest eater alive. It is a struggle to introduce new foods.

Last night I made an oldie but a goodie. Sausage was my absolute favorite when I was a kid. I looked forward to it at Grandma’s cook-outs. One thing I did not like was bbq sauce. I thought it to be disgusting. What I didn’t like about it was the thickness and heavy flavor. However, when mom put it together with sausage, I loved it! The sauce would thin out making it good enough to me to eat it. I wonder where papas gets his pickiness from?

Allow me to introduce one of those happy meals we had with a glass of kool-aid.

Sausage and Peppers

2 tbsps olive oil
2 – 14oz packages of sausage, sliced.
Your favorite brand will do. Mom always bought the cheapest.
2 large bell peppers, sliced
1 large onion, sliced
Goya sazonador total, to taste
1/4 cup of your favorite bbq sauce
. If you can get a hold of Stubbs spicy or even Rudy’s, those are good. HEB brand has a Carolina sauce that is amazing!

Heat the oil in a large deep skillet over medium-high heat. Add sausage, peppers and seasoning. Brown mixture, lower heat to medium-low, cook covered until onions began to soften, about 10 minutes. Add bbq sauce, cover and cook another 5-10 minutes. Serve over white rice or along side mashed potatoes.

20140504-104126.jpg

