Tags

, , , ,

Mexican food was created for one thing and one thing only…for the gringos of course.  Americans love devouring enchiladas, rice and beans.  I mean just give me the chips and salsa and the bill!  Many of you would be surprised to know that rice and beans are not on most menus in Mexico

On my very first visit to Mexico I was afraid to eat anything.  From what I was told everything is made of cat and dog.  So I starved myself on my 3 day visit.  My husband’s cousin didn’t make it easy for me to want to eat anything either as he joined in on the awful rumor que apenas llego los gatos en McDonald’s.  Nooooooooooooooo!

A few years later my husband and I returned to Mexico for one of our wedding anniversary’s.  I was a little less naive and my palate was ready to experience a little bit more of what Mexico had to offer.  I decided to trust my husband’s cousin and he led us to, what is now my favorite little spot, the Cenaduria Tampico.  They have, well in my opinion, the best sincronizadas.  What is a sincronizada you ask?  Well, it is only the best over sized tortilla filled with beans, cheese and your choice of carne desebrada (shredded beef), fajita (chopped skirt steak) or trompo (pork sliced off a spindle).

True Mexican food is simple yet offers an array of mouth watering flavors.  No rice and beans to make you say “Oooh, I over did it.” Simple.  An order of small tacos and that’s it. No chips and salsa to make you full before your actual meal is served.  Simple.  I would always be so anxious to get in my kitchen and recreate these simple little pleasures that never worked out.

US store packaged tortillas are no match for the awesomeness of Mexican tortillas.  When I take a bite of a warm corn tortilla, I taste…CORN!  Imagine that.  You will typically find 1 kilo of corn tortillas in the middle of every breakfast, lunch and dinner table. Flour tortillas are just as awesome and are really considered a treat.  US store packaged tortillas taste like gum.  So needless to say my American made sincro tasted like gum and the inside of a can.

A few lessons learned: 1) Always make a pot of homemade beans to have during the week, 2) buy tortillas made fresh daily at your neighborhood tortilleria and 3) If you want a sincro, walk to the nearest corner and order one.

Aproveche!

Mexican sincro

If you would like to make this at home simply gather the following ingredients:

Over sized burrito tortillas
Refried beans or smashed beans (not of the can variety either)
Monterrey Jack cheese, shredded
Beef fajitas, chopped

What your basically going to do is make a giant taco or quesadilla.  Be sure to heat up your tortillas.  I only say this because I know people that just eat the tortillas cold straight out of the package.  Bleh!  What I like to do is heat the tortilla a little.  Just enough to make it fold with out breaking.  Heat a large skillet over medium heat.  Fill your tortilla with all ingredients and fold to resemble a giant taco. Spread butter on one side of the tortilla and place, buttered sided down into the skillet.  Grill until golden brown on both sides.

Serve with lettuce, tomato, avocado, mexican crema and salsa if desired.

The American Sincro

