Tags

, , ,

My grandpa ran into an old friend of his son’s a while back and the old friend remembered one thing about my grandparent’s house…grandma’s beans.  I have to tell you, and this is no lie, my grandmother makes the best beans in the entire world.  I still have not found out her secret because she has explained to me how she makes them and I have tried, and tried, and tried her way and they never come out like hers.  Her beans have this super creamy gravy to them and the taste is like butter.  My goodness I may need to make another trip back home.

Okay enough slobbering over here. Let’s get to it.

Making beans seems like a chore, but the extra effort is worth it.  In the past when I have made beans I would just rinse them, and throw them in a pot, cover and let them boil.  I had to keep adding water because it would evaporate really fast.  I have picked up a few tricks from the best along the way

Basic Beans

2 lbs pinto beans
1/2 of a large onion
1 jalapeño pepper
4 or 5 garlic cloves
Salt & pepper to taste

Start by picking out any rocks and ugly looking beans.  Place the cleaned out pintos in a colander.  Rinse and cover the beans with water and let them soak 2 hours or over night.  This is a method of cleaning the beans and shortening your cooking time.  While your beans are soaking bring to a boil about 2 qrts of water in a large stock pot over medium-high heat.

Once the water has come to a boil add your beans, onion, garlic cloves and jalapeño.  Adding the jalapeño will not make your beans spicy unless it burst and the seeds come out then we have a problem.  You can always remove the chile if you see it starting to burst open.  Cover and lower heat to medium.  Cook for about 2 hour or until beans are tender.  You will need to add water through the cooking process as it evaporates.  Which is why you do not add your salt and pepper or any other seasonings until the last 30 minutes of cook time.

Keep them in the fridge up to 3 or 4 days or you can freeze them up to a month or month in a half.  I usually freeze half.

Happy Eating!

