Tags

, , , , , ,

Potatoes and chorizo take me way back.  This is something I remember eating a lot as a kid.  Chorizo and egg.  Chorizo and bean.  I have found that chorizo is versatile.  I have even made it with chicken.

Here is a healthy alternative using soyrizo.  Make it for your family with out telling them it’s not the real deal to get honest reactions.  Some people hear the word soy and gag.  People, it’s really not that bad.  In fact it’s good for you.

Soyrizo Potatoes

3 tablespoons oil
1 potato, cubed
Half link soyrizo
Cheddar flavored rice shreds

Coat the bottom of a skillet with vegetable oil and heat over medium heat.  Add potatoes and season how you like, cover and let cook stirring frequently so they won’t stick to the pan.  I like to my potatoes nice and toasty.  It will take about 15 minutes  or less for the potatoes to cook.  Half way through the cooking process add your soyrizo mixing well with the potatoes.  Once the potatoes are done add rice shreds and cover letting the shreds melt.  Serve with a side of fresh tomatoes, avocado slices and warm tortillas.

