Tags

, ,

Deviled eggs are my absolute favorite.  I think the only thing I really like about deviled eggs is the creamy yolk filling.  Mom always includes these little babies in my birthday meals.  She knows me so well.

Someone once showed me to salt the water that you are boiling the eggs in to prevent the shells from sticking and tearing apart the egg.  Since I have tried this I’m not too sure this really works.  However, every time I make boiled eggs I do salt the water.  It’s now become a force of habit.  I think the real trick is to not over boil them.  From the time the water starts to boil, leave the eggs in the water no longer than 12 minutes and let them cool completely.

Plain Janes

4 hard boiled eggs
2 1/2 tablespoons mayonnaise
salt and pepper to taste
paprika, optional

Slice the eggs in half lengthwise and carefully remove the yolks and place into a bowl.  If you give the egg white a gentle squeeze the yolk falls right out.  Mash the yolks into small crumbles.  Add in mayo, salt and pepper and mix until nice and creamy.  Spoon mixture evenly into eggs whites.  For extra flavor and a pop of color sprinkle the deviled eggs with paprika or if you wanted a little heat try a dash of cayenne.  Served best when chilled.

